DUI Proven in the Courtroom, Where It Matters Most.


Your Dedicated Defender in Tennessee DUI Charges

A DUI conviction in Dickson, TN can have a variety of detrimental effects on your life, such as jail time, fines, loss of your driver’s license, and more.

DUI charges are among the most common heard in Tennessee courts and often involve individuals who otherwise have had little or no experience with criminal law or courts, which they often hire a skilled criminal defense attorney to protect their rights and freedom.

At Belmares Law, PLLC, our law firm is devoted to fighting for the best outcome for our clients facing a variety of drunk driving matters in Dickson, Tennessee.

You will work directly with Attorney Leonard G. Belmares, II, who can understand what you’re going through, educate you on how the criminal justice system works, and get the most favorable outcome possible.

Our lawyers are here to forward your best interests, to address all aspects of your case, and to use our considerable legal skills and experience on your behalf.

Is It Worth Getting A Lawyer For A DUI?

Yes you should! It is always worth getting a lawyer for your DUI/DWI charge and help you win in court and get your case.

A driver should hire an experienced DUI attorney serving Dickson County to establish a solid defense strategy and prevent your license from becoming suspended.

Should I Get A Lawyer For First Time DUI?

If this is your first offense with breaking the law in Tennessee and you are overwhelmed by the process, a proficient traffic lawyer can walk you through the steps and help make things go as smooth as possible.

It is always recommended to seek legal counsel from a DUI attorney whenever possible prior to making your plea to the judge about a DUI.

DUI arrest? Get a free case analysis from our Dickson County DUI defense lawyer by calling (833) 355-0310 as soon as possible.

What is a DUI in Dickson, Tennessee?

You can be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs in the state based on the subjective testimony of law enforcement or if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measured .08 percent or higher as an adult (known as “per se” DUI).

For those under the age of 21, if your BAC measured .02 percent or higher, you can be arrested for DUI.

In a first offense through Dickson County, TN within the last 10 years, it will be up to the judge to determine your exact penalties when convicted of a DUI within the following guidelines:

  • 48 hours minimum up to a year in jail; 7 days minimum jail time for those with a BAC measuring .20 percent or higher

  • Loss of your license for up to a year; however, a restricted license may be available

  • Fines ranging from $350 up to $1,500

  • Participation in an alcohol or drug treatment program and/or DUI “school”

  • Restitution to anyone whom you caused to suffer injury or property loss

  • An ignition interlock to be installed and maintained in your vehicle at your own expense

The financial damage of a first-offense DUI could add up to close to $5,000 which includes towing, bail, increased auto insurance premiums, court costs, school costs, license reinstatement, and legal fees.

If you had a passenger under the age of 18 in your car when arrested for driving under the influence, your minimum jail time will be increased by 30 days.

In some cases, you may be allowed to continue working during the day if you return to jail at night or you may be allowed to complete 400 hours of community service in lieu of jail time.

Multiple DUIs within 10 Years

Second, third, and subsequent DUIs within a 10-year time frame will result in increasingly harsher incarceration times, fines, and other penalties. A second offense will lead to a minimum of 45 days in jail, fines of up to $6,000, and a two-year license loss.

In a third offense, jail time increases to a minimum of 120 days, fines increase to up to $10,000, and your license will be revoked for six years.

A fourth DUI will be charged as a felony with a minimum jail time of 150 days, fines of up to $15,000, and a license revocation of up to eight years.

Get Legal Assistance from an Experienced Trial Lawyer

As you can see, the repercussions of driving intoxicated can be severe in Dickson, TN.

Aside from the penalties listed above, you will be faced with a permanent criminal record if convicted.

Belmares Law, PLLC can investigate every facet of your arrest in search of legal errors, violations of your rights, faulty chemical testing, and more. We have a passion for fighting for your rights and best interests throughout the duration of your case.

Do not hesitate to let us defend you in court and help you get back on track.

Call our Dickson County DUI attorney at (833) 355-0310 or contact us online today.

Recent Client Reviews

See What Our Clients are Saying About Us
  • “I received outstanding service.”

    - Trevor L.

    - Shellie J.
Know What to Expect Throughout the Court Process

Success Stories

We Have a Proven Track Record of Victories
  • Drug Conspiracy Charges Dismissed
  • Aggravated Assault Not Guilty
  • Possession of Marijuana Charges Dismissed
  • Possession of Methamphetamine Charges Dismissed

Why Choose Us?

See What Sets Us Apart
  • Personal Attention & Direct Access to an Attorney
  • Extensive Trial & Appeals Experience
  • Full Transparency of What to Expect
  • Boutique Firm Focused on Criminal Defense & Family Law
  • Video Consultations Available

What's My First Step?

Fill Out the Form Below for a Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.